top of page

Space Age


Naughty me for leaving this for so long. Must. Try. Harder.

Since finishing, Suff'ring, I enjoyed working with, 'the boys' (ie StraightUp Productions) so much that I ended up on another fun production with them - Space Doctor, at the Canal Café Theatre, in Little Venice, in previews (I suppose...) prior to running at the Brighton and Edinburgh Festivals.

Set at a fan convention for a buried and forgotten 1970s show about a time-travelling doctor - as hideously wooden as that decade allowed in terms of television sci-fi. I played Dodo, the doctor's original assistant, who bore the brunt of that bad acting, atrocious script, and outright sexism, sitting on a panel consisting of the shows feminist creator, its sleazy writer, and the Doctor. The superfans and 'Doctor' reenact the pilot episode, and the panel open up old wounds. By the end, the creator and Dodo come out on top in the end, which is fabulous!

Despite lots of to-ing and fro-ing, I very regrettably had to bow out of the festival runs, and the script and casting has all changed. I wish them all the best with it though, and will go and see it when it's in London. I can still be seen in it, in the part, this time, of a TV Critic on VT. I really hope I get to work with the boys again, soon - they are great to work with!

But... always faced forward, I have been working on a few student films, primarily to help keep my showreel updated, but also because I just like to work. I'll put them on the video page as and when.

I'm preparing for a show next week, The Ghost Hypothesis, at the Space Theatre, for the Science Fiction - Double Feature Festival. It's a short, 10min piece, a two-hander. I play an astronaut (yes!) who has returned from a Mars mission unexpectedly and mysteriously.

As ever, I get ants in my pants if I haven't got at least an audition to go to, so, let's see what I'll be doing in the future. Let's go!

Tags:

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page